When you know what you want, you know what you need

Janet Lim
2 min readJul 31, 2019

“If you don’t know where you want to go, then it doesn’t matter which path you take.”

Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Some make decisions based on what is needed. Some decide based on what they want.

Which camp do you belong to?

Going about life based on what you want sounds a tad wilful….or is it not?

Science has shown that human make decisions largely based on emotions, then justify with logic.

A quick introduction: I am an ex-corporate dog, second time entrepreneur, entrepreneur and executive coach, a connector, a self-learnt and circumstance-made business strategist.

For as long as I can remember, I always pride myself for being a rational decision maker. Yet looking back, my journey has been littered with a lot of regrettable decisions that went against my will and motivation...haha!

I always make decisions based on a “need to basis”. In my business, I’ve pursued clients and projects I didn’t like because I needed the revenue and credentials.

The result? My work and engagement were soulless.

--

--

Janet Lim

Entrepreneur coach, strategy facilitator | Advocator of entrepreneur development and wellbeing